Governor General's Award for Poetry


Poet, novelist and newspaperman Charles Bruce was born in 1906 in Port Shoreham, Nova Scotia. After graduating from Mount Allison University in 1927 with a Bachelor of Arts, he joined the Canadian Press in Halifax and was transferred to Toronto in 1933. Among his six collections of poetry is The Mulgrave Road, which won the Governor-General’s Award for Poetry in 1951. Bruce died on December 19, 1971 in Toronto.




Wild Apples (Tribune Press, 1927)    
Tomorrow’s Tide (Macmillan Company, 1932)
Personal Note (Ryerson Press, 1941)
Grey Ship Moving (Ryerson Press, 1945)
The Flowing Summer (Ryerson Press, 1947)
The Mulgrave Road (Macmillan, 1951)


The Channel Shore (Macmillan, 1954)
The Township of Time (Macmillan, 1959)


News and the Southams (Macmillan, 1968)

  • Djwa, Sandra. Politics of the Imagination: A Life of F.R. Scott. Toronto: McClelland and Stewart, 1987.
  • Richardson, Keith. "Scott, Francis Reginald (Frank)." The Canadian Encyclopedia.
  • Scott, F.R. The Collected Poems of F. R. Scott. Toronto: McClelland and Stewart, 1981.
  • --. The Dance is One. Toronto: McClelland and Stewart, 1973.
  • --. Essays on the Constitution: Aspects of Canadian Law and Politics. 1977. [Non-fiction]
  • --. Events and Signals. Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1954.
  • --. The Eye of the Needle: Satire, Sorties, Sundries. Montreal: Contact Press, 1957.
  • --. Overture. Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1945.
  • --. Selected Poems. Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1966.
  • --. Signature. Vancouver: Klanak Press, 1964.
  • --. Trouvailles: Poems from Prose. Montreal: Delta Canada, 1967.
  • --. Signature. Vancouver: Klanak Press, 1964.
  • --, trans. St-Denys Garneau & Anne Hebert: Translations/Traductions. Vancouver: Klanak Press, 1962.
  • --. Poems of French Canada. Burnaby, B.C.: Blackfish Press, 1977.
  • --, A.J.M. Smith, and Leo Kennedy, eds. New Provinces: Poems of Several Authors. Toronto: Macmillan, 1936.
  • -- and A.J.M. Smith, eds. The Blasted Pine: An Anthology of Satire, Invective and Disrespectful Verse. 1957.
  • Thomas, Hilda L.. "Anne Marriott". Dictionary of Literary Biography, Volume 68: Canadian Writers, 1920-1959, First Series. A Bruccoli Clark Layman Book. Edited by W. H. New, University of British Columbia. The Gale Group, 1988. pp. 244-247.
  • Marriott, Anne. The Wind Our Enemy. Toronto, ON: Ryerson, 1939. PR9199.3 .M3785 W5 E. J. Pratt Library at Victoria University.
  • --. Calling Adventurers. Torono, ON: Ryerson, 1941. PR9199.3 .M3785 C3 E. J. Pratt Library at Victoria University.
  • --. Salt Marsh and Other Poems. Torono, ON: Ryerson, 1942. PR9199.3 .M3785 S34 E. J. Pratt Library at Victoria University.
  • --. Sandstone and Other Poems. Torono, ON: Ryerson, 1945. PR9199.3 .M3785 S36 E. J. Pratt Library at Victoria University.
  • --. Countries. Fredericton, NB: Fiddlehead Poetry Books, 1971. PS8525 .A75 C68 Robarts Library.
  • -- (With Joyce Moller). A Swarming in My Mind. North Vancouver, BC: Curriculum Services Centre, 1976.
  • --. This West Shore. Toronto, ON: League of Canadian Poets, 1981.
  • --. The Circular Coast: Poems, New and Selected. Oakville, ON: Mosaic Press/Valley Editions, 1981. PS8525 .A75 C57 Robarts Library.
  • --. Letters from Some Islands. Oakville, ON: Mosaic Press, 1986. PS8525 .A75 L48 Robarts Library.
  • --. Aqua. Toronto, ON: Wolsak and Wynn, 1991. PS8525 .A75 A8 1991 Robarts Library.
  • Grace, Sherrill. "Gwendolyn MacEwen". Dictionary of Literary Biography, Volume 53: Canadian Writers Since 1960, First Series. A Bruccoli Clark Layman Book. Edited by W. H. New. The Gale Group, 1986. 279-82.
  • MacEwen, Gwendolyn. Selah. Toronto, Ontario: Aleph, 1961. PR6063 .A2 S4 E. J. Pratt Library at Victoria University
  • --. The Drunken Clock. Toronto, Ontario: Aleph, 1961. PR6063 .A26 D7 E. J. Pratt Library at Victoria University.
  • --. The Rising Sun. New York, NY: Contact Press, 1963; published as The Rising Fire, 1964. PS8524 .E95 R5 Robarts Library
  • --. A Breakfast for Barbarians. Toronto, Ontario: Ryerson, 1966. PS8524 .E95 B7 Robarts Library.
  • --. The Shadow-Maker. Toronto, Ontario: Macmillan, 1969. PS8524 .E95 S4 Robarts Library.
  • --. The Armies of the Moon. Toronto, Ontario: Macmillan, 1972. PS8524 .E95 A8 Robarts Library.
  • --. Magic Animals: Selected Poems Old and New. Toronto, Ontario: Macmillan, 1974; published as Magic Animals: Selected Poetry of Gwendolyn MacEwen. Don Mills, ON: Stoddart Publishing, 1984. PS8524 .E95 M3 Robarts Library.
  • --. The Fire-Eaters. Ottawa, Ontario: Oberon Press, 1976. PS8524 .E95 F5 Robarts Library.
  • --. The T. E. Lawrence Poems. Oakville, Ontario: Mosaic Press, 1982. PS8524 .E95 T22 1982 Robarts Library.
  • --. Earthlight: Selected Poetry of Gwendolyn MacEwen, 1963-1982. Toronto, Ontario: General Publishing, 1982. PS8524 .E95 E3 Robarts Library.
  • --. Afterworlds. Toronto, Ontario: McClelland and Stewart, 1987. PS8524 .E95 A47 1987 Robarts Library.
  • Sullivan, Rosemary. Shadow Maker: The Life of Gwendolyn MacEwen. Toronto: Harper Collins, 1995.

George Elliott Clarke is the E.J. Pratt Professor of Canadian Literature at the University of Toronto. His works include the poem-novel, Whylah Falls (1990), the narrative lyric sequence, Execution Poems (2001), and the verse-play and opera, Beatrice Chancy (1999). Clarke's awards include the Governor-General's Award for Poetry (2001), a Bellagio (Italy) Center Fellowship (1998), and the National Magazine Gold Award for Poetry (2002). He has also published a major critical book, Odysseys Home: Mapping African-Canadian Literature (University of Toronto Press, Summer 2002).

He is a member of the Black Cultural Society of Nova Scotia, the League of Canadian Poets, the Modern Languages Association, the Writers Federation of Nova Scotia, the Writer's Guild of Canada, and the Writers Union of Canada.


  • Blue. Vancouver: Polestar Book Publishers, 2001.
  • Beatrice Chancy. Victoria, BC: Polestar Book Publishers, 1999.
  • Execution Poems. Wolfville, NS: Gaspereau Press, 2001.
  • Lush Dreams, Blue Exile. Lawrencetown Beach, NS: Pottersfield Press, 1983.
  • Saltwater Spirituals and Deeper Blues. Porters Lake, NS: Pottersfield Press, 1983.
  • Whylah Falls. Vancouver: Polestar Book Publishers, 1990.


  • Canadian Who's Who 2003 Vol. XXXVIII
  • Clarke, George Elliott. Whylah Falls. Polestar, 1990.