O'Neill, Eugene

O'Neill, Eugene (1888 - 1953)


Born October 16, 1888, in New York, Eugene O'Neill is the 20th-century's best-known American dramatist. Educated at Princeton, he spent his early years working as a secretary in New York, as a gold-prospector in Honduras, as a seaman on trips to Buenos Aires, South Africa, and Southampton, and as a bit-player in his father's company. He wrote verse in these early years, but after spending six months in a sanatorium he turned to writing plays in 1913. He won four Pulitzer prizes for his plays Beyond the Horizon (1919), Anna Christie (1922), Strange Interlude (1928), and his semi-autobiographical drama on his own family, Long Day's Journey into Night (composed 1940-41, published 1956). He won the Nobel Prize for literature in 1936. Others of his plays include The Emperor Jones (1921), The Hairy Ape (1922), All God's Chillun Got Wings (1924), Desire under the Elsm (1924), the trilogy Mourning becomes Electra (1931), Ah! Wilderness (1932), The Iceman Cometh (1946), and Moon for the Misbegotten (1947). He died November 27, 1953.

  • Gelb, Arthur and Barbara Gelb. O'Neill (New York Harper and Row, 1973; PS 3529 N5Z653 1973 Robarts Library)
  • Smith, Madeline. Eugene O'Neill: an annotated bibliography (New York: Garland, 1988; PS 3529 .N5 Z459 St. Michael's College Library)
  • Atkinson, Jennifer McCabe. Eugene O'Neill: a descriptive bibliography (Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Press, 1974; Z 8644 .5 A74 Robarts Library)
Given Name
Family Name
Birth Date
October 16, 1888
Death Date
November 27, 1953
  • Playwright

Literary Period
Literary Movement