Clifford, Wayne

Clifford, Wayne (1944)


Wayne Clifford is a Canadian poet, editor, and educator. He has written more than a dozen books of poetry, including the goundbreaking sonnet sequence The Exile's Papers, which currently extends over three volumes. After attaining his M.A. and M.F.A. at the University of Iowa in 1969, he spent three and half decades working at a small college in Kingston, Ontario. Leaving to write full-time in 2004, Clifford was appointed as the Poetry Editor at Porcupine's Quill. He presently lives on the island of Grand Manan in the Bay of Fundy. 



Man in a Window. Toronto, Ontario: Coach House Press, 1965.

Eighteen. Toronto, Ontario: Coach House Press, 1966.

Alphabook. Kingston, Ontario: Makework Press, 1972.

Glass Passages. Ottawa, Ontario: Oberon Press, 1976.

An Ache in the Ear. Toronto, Ontario: Coach House Press, 1979.

On Abducting the 'Cello. Erin, Ontario: Porcupine's Quill, 2004.

The Book of Were. Erin, Ontario: Porcupine's Quill, 2006.

The Exile's Papers: Part One: The Duplicity of Autobiography. Erin, Ontario: Porcupine's Quill, 2007.

The Exile's Papers: Part Two: The Face as its Thousand Ships. Erin, Ontario: Porcupine's Quill, 2009.

Jane Again. Emeryville, Ontario: Biblioasis, 2009

Learning to Dance with a Peg Leg. Frog Hollow Press, 2009.

The Exile's Papers: Part Three: The Dirt's Passion Is Flesh Sorrow. Erin, Ontario: Porcupine's Quill, 2011.

Given Name
Family Name
Birth Date
Death Date
Literary Period
Literary Movement
First RPO Edition
Jim Johnstone