Shakespeare's Sonnets: In faith, I do not love thee with mine eyes

Sonnet 141

1In faith, I do not love thee with mine eyes,
3But 'tis my heart that loves what they despise,
4Who in despite of view is pleas'd to dote.
7Nor taste, nor smell, desire to be invited
8To any sensual feast with thee alone;
10Dissuade one foolish heart from serving thee
12Thy proud heart's slave and vassal wretch to be.
14    That she that makes me sin awards me pain.


2] errors] defects. Back to Line
5] Extrametrical, with line 7. Back to Line
6] base touches] sexual fondling. Back to Line
9] But] But (neither). five wits: the five spiritual or mental faculties, named in the early 16th-century moral play, The World and the Child, as "Clear in mind ... / Imagination and all reason, / Understanding and compassion" (Six Anonymous Plays, ed. J. S. Farmer [London, 1905]: 190). five senses: eyes (line 1), ears (5), touch (6), taste and smell (7). Back to Line
11] unsway'd] ungoverned, unruled. Back to Line
13] plague] prehaps venereal disease. Back to Line
Publication Start Year: 
RPO poem Editors: 
Ian Lancashire
RPO Edition: