1914 IV. The Dead

Original Text: 
Rupert Brooke, "1914" Five Sonnets (London: Sidgwick & Jackson, 1915). PR 6003 R4N5 1915b Robarts Library. See also Rupert Brooke, 1914 & Other Poems (London: Sidgwick & Jackson, 1915): 14. PR 6003 R4N5 Robarts Library.
1These hearts were woven of human joys and cares,
2    Washed marvellously with sorrow, swift to mirth.
3The years had given them kindness. Dawn was theirs,
4    And sunset, and the colours of the earth.
5These had seen movement, and heard music; known
6    Slumber and waking; loved; gone proudly friended;
7Felt the quick stir of wonder; sat alone;
8    Touched flowers and furs and cheeks. All this is ended.
9There are waters blown by changing winds to laughter
10And lit by the rich skies, all day. And after,
11    Frost, with a gesture, stays the waves that dance
12And wandering loveliness. He leaves a white
13    Unbroken glory, a gathered radiance,
14A width, a shining peace, under the night.
Publication Start Year: 
Publication Notes: 
New Numbers (1915)
RPO poem Editors: 
Ian Lancashire
RPO Edition: 
RPO 1999.